Thursday, December 13, 2018

Proactiv Solution 3-Step System

Proactiv Solution 3-Step System Review

Acne Treatments

Product Grade
Report Card Grade
0 Reviews
Best Feature:
Benzoyl peroxide and glycolic acid combo is very effective
Worst Feature:
Bleaches fabric and more expensive than similar treatments
Best Uses:
Complete treatment system for mild/moderate acne
Pricing:
$19.95 (2-month supply)
Manufacturer:

Where to Buy

Store Name
Price
$56.77

Overview

The Proactiv 3-Step System is an acne treatment that was formulated by dermatologists Katie Rodan and Kathy Fields. The 3-Step System includes a cleanser, toner and repairing lotion, and each product is designed for use in conjunction with the others to achieve the best results. Proactiv combines a mild solution of prescription-grade acne medicine (2.5% benzoyl peroxide) with leading skincare ingredients to unclog pores, kill the bacteria causing acne, soothe inflammation and condition your skin. This unique combination of benzoyl peroxide and glycolic acid "proactively" control the acne cycle to stop breakouts before they occur.

You can purchase the Proactiv 3- Step System on www.proactiv.com for $19.95.

Product Report Card Grade

We give Proactiv Solution’s 3-Step System a B+ because it is a very effective and popular acne-fighting treatment that has won numerous awards from women’s magazines. That said, we deducted points because Proactiv is more expensive than some drugstore acne medications that can produce similar results. Additionally, it is also a little annoying that the Benzoyl Peroxide bleaches any fabric that it comes in contact with.


 
This Product
Overall Score
Our Awards
Date Reviewed
April 2013
April 2013
April 2013
Pros
effective treatment for moderate acne that is less irritating than other Benzoyl Peroxide treatments because it isn't as potent; 60-day money back guarantee; ability to customize program; travel size containers available
enhances effectiveness of current acne treatment routine and is gentle on skin; convenient size for traveling; 100% natural; good for reducing redness and inflammation
inexpensive; effective treatment of mild acne and blackheads; 3-1 makes nightly routine easier
Cons
more expensive than other acne treatments with Benzoyl Peroxide; Benzoyl Peroxide can bleach hair and dyed fabric (clothing, carpet, sheets/pillows, towels, etc.); skin will be more sensitive to outside irritants/sun
time-consuming; expensive (especially if you end up buying the "Power Pack")
won't fade acne scaring; fragrance and coloring agents may irritate sensitive skin; may be overly drying for some users
Active Ingredient or Technology
Cleanser/Lotion contain 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide and the Toner contains Glycolic Acid.
Device uses phototherapy.
Gel contains 2% Salicylic Acid.
Skin Concern
Mild to moderate acne
Mild to moderate acne
Mild acne and blackheads
Skin Type
Normal, Oily or Combination
Normal, Dry, Oily, Combination, Sensitive
Normal, Oily or Combination
Price
$19.95
$348
$7
Prescription Needed?
No
No
No
Size
Cleanser and Toner are both 4 fluid ounces and the Lotion is 2 fluid ounces. (Larger sizes available.)
Device is 6.5" tall and the head is 1.25" in diameter. It weighs less than 8 ounces.
2 fluid ounces
Supply
2-month supply
Unlimited
Varies based on usage
How It Works
3-Step System features a cleanser, toner and repairing lotion. The medicated cleanser gently exfoliates skin and boosts the delivery of its acne-fighting benzoyl peroxide (2.5%). The toner has glycolic acid that continues to clean/exfoliate skin. It also has other moisturizing and calming ingredients to improve skin's tone. Finally, the gentle repairing lotion also contains 2.5% benzoyl peroxide to help to kill acne-causing bacteria below the surface of your skin.
Releases wavelengths of blue light that penetrate deep into your skin to kill acne-causing bacteria, P. acnes, and soothe inflammatory acne vulgaris. Basically, within P. acnes bacteria, there are small molecules known as porphyrins. When exposed to 420 nm and shorter wavelengths of light, porphyrins generate free radicals that attack and kill P. acnes bacteria.
Powerful MicroClearâ„¢ technology helps the key acne medicine, salicylic acid, unclog congested pores and penetrate deep under the surface of your skin to fight acne at its source. At the same time, the unique formula contains moisturizers to hydrate and soften skin, as well as calming ingredients to reduce redness and irritation.
Side Effects
Increased dryness and irritation are possible side effects.
None
Increased dryness and peeling are possible side effects.
Warranty/Money Back Guarrantee
60-day money back guarantee
5-year warranty and 60-day money back guarantee
N/A

ProductReportCard Editors' In-Depth Review


Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Cleanser and lotion contain 2.5% benzoyl peroxide, so it isn't as potent as other treatments but still effective and ideally less irritation
  • Effective treatment for moderate acne
  • 60 days money back guarantee
  • If you want, you can customize your program by choosing the products that you like best. For example, I used all three products at first, then I just used the cleanser and toner, and now I just use the toner.
  • Travel size containers available

Cons

  • More expensive than other acne treatments with benzoyl peroxide
  • Benzoyl Peroxide can bleach hair and dyed fabric (clothing, carpet, sheets/pillows, towels, etc.)
  • Benzoyl Peroxide can make your skin more susceptible to sunburns
  • May be too irritating for sensitive skin

Key Features

Skin Type
Oily, Normal or Combination (not appropriate for very sensitive skin)
Skin Concern
Mild to moderate acne and breakouts
How it works
The 3-Step System is as follows:
  1. "Renewing Cleanser" - The first step in the Proactiv regime is washing your face with an oil-free and soap-free medicated cleanser that is made with an exclusive micro-crystal benzoyl peroxide. The ultra-fine micro-crystals gently exfoliate your skin to remove dirt, oil and dead skins cells that can clog pores and cause breakouts. They also help boost the delivery of prescription-grade benzoyl peroxide deep under the surface of your skin to kill acne-causing bacteria at the source.
    • Size: 4.0 or 6.0 fluid ounces
    • Active Ingredients: benzoyl peroxide 2.5%
    • Inactive Ingredients: water (aqua), magnesium aluminum silicate, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, disodium PEG-12 dimethicone sulfosuccinate, sorbitol, dimethyl isosorbide, tridecyl stearate, neopentyl glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, polyethylene, cetyl esters, anthemis nobilis flower extract, sodium hyaluronate, sodium PCA, xanthan gum, tridecyl trimellitate, propylene glycol, imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).
  2. "Revitalizing Toner" - The second step is an alcohol-free toner containing glycolic acid that helps remove excess surface oil (without drying) and exfoliate dead skin cells to leave skin soft and even-toned. It is a unique formula that also uses witch hazel to refine and purify pores, aloe and chamomile to soothe and soften, and allantoin to moisturize and condition.
    • Size: 4.0 or 6.0 fluid ounces
    • Active Ingredients: glycolic acid
    • Inactive Ingredients: water (aqua), hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, anthemis nobilis flower extract, rosa canina fruit extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, sodium PCA, panthenol, glycerin, propylene glycol, allantoin, polysorbate 20, hydroxyethylcellulose, sodium hydroxide, benzophenone-4, tetrasodium EDTA, imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum), blue 1 (CI 42090), yellow 5 (CI 19140).
  3. "Repairing Lotion" - The repairing lotion is an oil-free, lightweight acne treatment that contains finely milled prescription-grade benzoyl peroxide to heal blemishes and help prevent future breakouts. It is gentle enough to be used over your whole face.
    • Size: 2.0 or 4.0 fluid ounces
    • Active Ingredient: benzoyl peroxide 2.5%.
    • Inactive Ingredients: water (aqua), ethoxydiglycol, cyclotetrasiloxane, propylene glycol, cetearyl alcohol, dimethicone, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, cyclopentasiloxane, panthenol, allantoin, xanthan gum, ceteareth-20, carbomer, triethanolamine, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).
Directions
Proactiv advises that you go through the three steps twice a day (morning and night), but you can customize your routine based on how your skin reacts. For example, if bothersome dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application use. First, wet your face with warm water and gently massage a dime-sized amount of the Renewing Cleanser over your skin. Rinse it off thoroughly with warm water, and pat your face dry with a soft towel (don't use any dyed fabrics, as the cleanser causes bleaching). Next, you will apply the Revitalizing Toner. Use a cotton pad to wipe the toner across your skin. Allow Toner to dry (don't wash off) and follow with Repairing Treatment. Squeeze a pea-sized amount of lotion onto your fingertips and apply to any affected areas. Allow lotion to dry (do not rinse off).
Prescription Needed?
No

Reputation

Proactiv has received mixed reviews from customers online and scored 2.6/5 out of 3002 reviews on Makeupalley.com. It has received many awards from magazines such as New Beauty, "Best Overall Acne System" (Winter 2011); Teen Vogue, "Reader's Choice" award for "Best Acne Treatment" (2008, 2009, 2010); Seventeen, "Besties Award" for "Best Acne Treatment" (July 2009); and InStyle, "Best Beauty Buys" for "Best Acne Regimen" (April 2009). While Proactiv is the best selling acne medicine on the market, it is not necessarily the best acne medicine on the market. It has proven to be effective at clearing acne, but the formula isn't all that unique and you can mostly likely find the same results from a less expensive drugstore product like Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-In-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment.

Full disclosure, I used the 3-Step System years ago and it worked initially, but then I found it irritating/drying, so I cut back usage. I eventually moved cities and put a hold on my membership while I found a new apartment. A few months later, Proactiv started sending me more products to my old address and charging my credit card without reauthorization. I called to complain and cancelled my membership. I would just be wary of becoming a "member" with them because it can be a hassle to make sure you aren't getting sent more product than you need/want.


Reviews

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints

Username:
tiffanypayne086
Location:
Springfield, MO
Age:
24
pro active
Review submitted: 2015-06-19
I have tried this and it helps a little not much it left my skin oily and I cannot say I will use this product again I will continue to search for the best acne treatment for me I used it as directed and the power brush as well every morning itnmade minimal difference as for my review I did more than I should have for a facial treatment and I believe that they need to revise this produced facial cream and treatment this product might be good for some people but this was not the best product for me
Username:
CocoP26
Location:
Tempe, AZ
Age:
20
ProActiv Bust
Review submitted: 2015-06-19
For the past few years of my teenage life of acne, I would say that all the hype about ProActiv Acne Solution is nothing but a joke. I used the solution everyday for a year. Throughout that year, I had whitehead all over my face and all the solution did was make my face burn. It also discolored my towels. My mom purchased ProActiv for me when I was 15. I had an enormous amount of pimples on my forehead and on my chin. I used the ProActiv for weeks and had no improvement except for a burning face.
Username:
tracyesh
Location:
Austin, TX
Age:
53
My Proactiv Acne Treatment Review
Review submitted: 2015-03-22
For the last twenty nine years, I have dealt with adult acne. I have tried other acne treatment solutions, but with no luck. That is until I ran across Proactiv Acne Treatment. I have adult acne breakouts once every 2 or 3 months, so the products last me for quite a while. I use the Proactiv Revitalizing Toner, the Proactiv Finishing Mask and the Proactiv Daily Oil Control Lotion. The toner smells great and I can feel it working as soon as put it on my face. I use the mask as a spot treatment to put directly on the pimples at night and they are usually greatly minimized by the next morning. The daily oil control lotion keeps my face from getting oily and makes my skin feel soft and smooth. I like to use the lotion even when I'm not having a breakout. I love my Proactiv products!
Username:
SarahCZ21
Location:
Pasadena, MD
Age:
24
Its a Great product
Review submitted: 2015-01-26
I have just started using Proactiv Plus a month ago and I started seeing results instanley. I use the Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, Pore Targeting Treatment, Complexion Perfecting Hydrator, Re-Texturing Toner, Skin Purifying Mask and the Emergency Blemish Reeif. I Love it all. My face is so clear now and I don't feel bad about myself no more. I would recommend Proactiv Plus to anyone. If you want clear skin, smooth skinand importantly acne free skin please try Proactiv Plus. You will not regret it.
Username:
daniela1234
Location:
El Paso, TX
Age:
22
proactive: Is it any different?
Review submitted: 2015-01-20
my experience with proactive was great I did only one set and it clean out my hole face and body I have 1 year with my clean face it was really good now that I am older I like my skin since that month my skin has been clear and with no imperfections thank you to proactive this really got my confidence up and I really enjoy while being in the treatment to see that big changer that really gave my life to a hole new level now I am more happy and as I said before more confident to show my face and really fell pretty
Username:
MrsHubbs
Location:
Spanaway, WA
Age:
35
Acne free
Review submitted: 2015-01-13
I've tried so many acne products for so long and I couldn't find the perfect treatment for me since my skin is very sensitive. Everytime I used new product instead of making my skin better it just worsen it more breakouts. Proactiv is kinda popular I've seen it on tv and read about it so told myself I should give it a try and I can really say that it is really worth it :). I recommend proactiv specially for those who have sensitive skin, proactive is very gentle wont dry your skin and you can see the result in few days of usage.
Username:
4evrtrng
Location:
Kankakee, IL
Age:
53
A Better ACNE Treatment
Review submitted: 2014-02-23
I have very sensitive skin. When it comes to skincare and treatments, I have to be careful what I buy and use on my face. I try to stay away from products with soy in them and high levels of Salicylic Acid because it breaks out my skin. When doing my face in the morning I use a cleanser, astringent or toner, acne cream and moisturizer. I have tried to use Proactiv in the past but it broke my skin out so bad I had to cancel the subscription. Before I canceled the subscription, the company tried to send me their product for sensitive skin with a higher level of salicylic acid and no soy. This made my skin even worse. I wish they made a product that clears up acne and fades acne scars that do not include soy or salicylic acid in the ingredients. I have tried other brands like Oil of Olay, Ambi and Neutrogena but so far nothing works for me. My skin is soft and hydrated to the touch, but the acne and scars are still there.
Username:
shermcmillan
Location:
Portland, OR
Age:
37
Proactiv review
Review submitted: 2014-02-11
I started using proactiv when I have used everything else and nothing else worked for my acne. I really like proactive and I am a true believer in the product. I use the 1-2-3 products. I use #1, the face scrub, in the shower in the morning. I follow that up with the #2, which is the toner, after I get out of the shower. Once that dries, I spot treat using the #3. I believe that this products works extremely well and makes your skin look much better. The only complaint that I have is that it bleaches clothing the sheets. I have ruined a couple sheets/pillow cases because I wore it to bed and didn't realize that it bleaches fabrics.
Username:
emmyrouleau2112
Location:
Orleans, ON
Age:
27
My Skin
Review submitted: 2014-02-07
I use Proactive skincare routine and I like it, but it is not the best one I have used. I don't think that it really gets rid of all my imperfections, once i got rid of one pimple, a new one would show up next day. Also found that it was extremely hard on my skin and dried it out alot. Being that i live in Canada, the weather already dries my skin out enough as it is. I use the 3 step system and i wash with the cleanser at night and the lotion at night, then in the morning i rinse my face with cold water and use the toner.
Username:
samknight
Location:
Jefferson, OR
Age:
31
Was it worth it?
Review submitted: 2014-01-26
I have fairly bad skin. I can usually cover it up but lets be fair, Im not always in the mood to put on make up all day every day. I wanted relief and beautiful skin. I've always heard of proactive but lets be honest here, if I can't just pick it up at a rite-aid, wla-mart or CVS then its a pain in the ass and not worth my time. But I broke down in tears and tears I hate my skin and I hate my life kind of way then I got the computer and got my first shipment of proactiv. From the first shipment arrival on it was pretty strange. First off, is it fully necessary to have box show up that is covered in "PROACTIV" slogans? Other then that the box contents were nice, everything laid out, great set of directions and good sized bottles. Then a second package arrived a couple days later with vitamins for your skin. I was perplexed because I didn't order vitamins for my skin. It was strange but I didn't think that hard about it and there was no additional charges to my account, and it was surely sent to me so I didn't give it much thought after checking all those areas. I went on and I started using the product. It was pretty good. I didn't feel like I was seeing an immediate result but there was obvious improvement and so I had hope to continue on. It was a matter of few weeks after my first order arrived I got another package. It had bigger bottles and other samples of products. I didn't order it, and I wasn't through the trail period for the first stuff that I had ordered. I was so confused, then I looked at my account and there was a $39.00 charge! say whaaaat!!??? I called and found out that since I had gotten the trail package, I was "enrolled" in their "club" and they would be charging me $39 for the next two months for the bottles I had just received. I was so confused, and not entirely THAT sure about the product at that. So I paid the rest of the cycle and continued using the proactiv with hope. It was a few weeks after that... I got another charge to my account. Remember those mysterious vitamins? Yea, proactiv sold my account information and now I was getting charged for those, tracking that company down and canceling my "membership" was a total pain. Just for all that confusion and proactiv playing around with my money and account I will not be ordering anything from them again. I could turn into one huge pimple and proactiv could be the only cure.... and I would find a way to accessorize my white head.
Username:
jmergott819
Location:
Los Angeles, CA
Age:
29
Proactiv
Review submitted: 2014-01-15
Though I've used Proactiv for years, their service is far from amiable. I've found their service and the process of ordering the product to be downright dishonest. I think Proactiv is a great option and product for people who have acne. I personally, have very mild and rare breakouts, but it keeps my skin in check and helps my skin feel protected and fresh. However, I've really struggled with my strong disapproval of the company practices in my continued use of the product. I haven't found a better and yet still affordable option in my daily skin care routine. But if I do, I feel no loyalty to stay with Proactiv as I don't feel that they have any loyalty to their customers. Over the years, the product has changed slightly. I've noticed they've added moisturizers and other steps to their traditional three step system and I've enjoyed the new products. I feel that the actual products have continued to get better, which I appreciate as a customer. My favorite new product is the green tea moisturizer. I think it's a great example of a moisturizer that helps maintain my skin's natural softness. The toner has always been my least favorite step. This is disappointing because the toner could stand alone as a product. I just don't find it to be any different than any other toner out there. Whereas, the repairing treatment and the cleanser I find to be my favorites.
Username:
sunnysidebear
Location:
Bethesda, MD
Age:
19
Proactiv does work! Esp. for the Oilys
Review submitted: 2014-01-11
I use Proactiv in the morning after I brush my teeth and at night in the shower. I am 14 currently and I do not recommend this to people under the age of 13. I personally have a rather oily face. Hearing such negativity conflicted my decision to buy Proactiv but I decided to try it out. I have bought the 3 step kit and beforehand, my face's texture looking like a pizza's and since I had a habit of popping pimples, that didn't make it any better. The first time I used it, my face burned bad. I thought put my face in boiling water but after the third step, the burning went away and first off, hands down to no dryness. Proactiv does not cause dryness. But that may be because of my oily skin and condition at that moment. I've been using Proactiv for about 3 months and most of my acne is gone and there aren't any pimples to pop so my habit is pretty much gone! I highly recommend this to people that have more oily skin because the first step really does cleanse your pores. Take a finger and wipe between your brows. If your finger feels oily or shines when you are in fair condition, Proactiv will work on you. For the people with not so oily skin, first, I envy you, and I'm afraid Proactiv may not be the best acne treatment for you. In my opinion, Proactiv is a strong treatment compared to other treatments and Proactiv will take some getting used to. The burning will leave around day 3 or 4. I do know some people where they have tried Proactiv and received more acne. But they have dry skin meaning that they're faces do not shine of oil like mine. If the strength of Proactiv lessen, it will be a great skin product for anyone. And for those who say Proactiv does not work, it does. It just depends on what type of skin you have. Proactiv works great for people with oily and mild acne skin.
Username:
tam876
Location:
Davenport, FL
Age:
53
Proactive works!
Review submitted: 2014-01-08
I have been using the Proactive system for so many years I don't know how long it has really been. Never had acne until my son was born 11 years ago. I use the entire system daily. The renewing cleanser is gentle. The revitalizing toner is great on pores. The repair treatment is a daily must and when things get really bad I add in the advanced blemish treatment. This keeps all acne under control. Every great while I have a bad flair up and this calms is right down. This usually happens because I forgot to use for a few days and got lazy. But this is even great for my 11 year old son who hates to wash his face in the morning before school and when he comes home in the afternoon, the nose area has started to sprout some little white heads. One dose of everything and he is gorgeous again the next morning! The best value is to purchase these in a set. I just wish the manufacturer would create sets where all the products are the same size. Right now the treatment is only half the size of the cleanser and toner.
Username:
itisjessica
Location:
San Gabriel, CA
Age:
19
Proactiv+
Review submitted: 2014-01-06
Proactive is a very good product for people who have slight or extreme acne. It has many different products like soap for washing your face that help prevents acne, moisturizing cream that doesn't clog pores or make your acne worse. They have special creams for people who have clogged pores. They have creams for all the different types of acne like white heads, black heads, papules and etc. I started using this product a little over a month and I'm already seeing a huge difference. I have tried over 100 different acne products which either made my acne worse or it didn't change at all so I have finally found a product that has worked that has been recommended by my dermatologist and friends.
Username:
melimillions6
Location:
Los Angeles, CA
Age:
23
the best acne treatment !
Review submitted: 2013-12-19
i use proactiv and i honestly think it is the best in the whole world with just 3 days using it my face showed a whole lot of improvement it cleared my skin ! it just work i felt it working it gets the job done fast ! i think its great i recommend it its a lifestyle not a product !!!!<3 i have tried different acne treatments and none worked until proactiv came into my life i love it its my life saver anyone can use it and guarenteed you will see a difference in less than 2 weeks im not lieng it really change my life it has made me more confident than ever ! i feel sexy and preety with a gorgeous face , i wouldnt be able to leave the house withought makeup and now i can wake up wash my face and step out the door
Username:
micboi09
Location:
Burlington, NC
Age:
36
my troubled acne finally cured!!! and love it!
Review submitted: 2013-11-06
i have very problmatic acne, large pores, blackheads, redness on my face for very long time. i've tried everything from masks, creams and facials. Nothing seems to work no matter how hard i searched and tried different products. then one day i see fommercial for proactiv solution and rush to order it. when i finally got it i startted using it right away. omly using it in the mornings and at night before bed. So twice a day and especially after a long day at the gym. When my skin is at its worse. i started noticing an major improvement of my skin clearing up and less visible pores within three weeks. my face is more softer, definitely a lot smoother, has a beautiful glow to it and huge reduction of redness. there is nothing i would change about this product. i abcolutely love love love love love love love love love love love love it!!!
Username:
tammymccaa
Location:
York, PA
Age:
44
Proactiv for the Active
Review submitted: 2013-10-31
I get adult acne and although Proactiv is pricey and I can not always afford it...it works! I try to keep it on hand and use it daily. I have tried many other acne products and this is the only one I have stuck with. I do still have some break outs and would love a new updated version to take care of this. Just think for the amount you pay for this item there should be no break outs at all. It is so expensive that I always look for online coupons and such to order I do not sign up for the auto delivery I can not afford it every month.
Username:
jennstar79
Location:
Phoenix, AZ
Age:
39
The only thing that works.
Review submitted: 2013-10-21
I have used Proactive for 13 years now. I have tried to deviate but every time I do my face breaks out all over again. I go back and with in a month my face is clear. I still have minor break outs hear and there. I believe my acne is hormone based which is the HARDEST to treat and still, Proactive works. I do include other treatments for other things but my base product is proactive. I am currently using the newest version and I love it. I have sensitive skin and this is perfect for me. I wash my face night and day. I do pretty much the same thing with exfoliating treatments thrown in here and there. I wash with Proactive's Skin smoothing exfoliator, I then use peter Thomas Roth either Max or Gentle exfoliating pad. I let that dry and then dab on any acne spot treatment I use which is currently the Peter Thomas Roth Gel. Then I use the Proactive Pore targeting Treatment. I let that dry and put on my eye cream which currently is either Clinique or Amore Pacific. Then I finish with Proactive Complexion Perfecting Hydrator. Every 3 days I use either glam glow, exfoliKate or a proactive mask to deep clean and exfoliate.
Username:
blynn
Location:
mesa, AZ
Age:
29
Skin care system
Review submitted: 2013-10-09
I have had acne since high school and just started using proactiv 6 months ago. so far it seems to be working. my skin is not I I would like it to be but is visably better. I use the system 2 x a day. it does have side effects. I have experienced dryness, redness, flaky, irritated skin. I plan on giving it a little longer but I just don't know if it is for my as of right now or not. my friend used it and it worked great for her only after 3 months so it may just not be the one for me but it could be for someone else.
Username:
tgolbuff
Location:
Apopka, FL
Age:
53
Proactiv Facial Cleanser Review
Review submitted: 2013-09-26
We first got this for my teenage daughter several months ago. Like most teenagers, she started getting acne breakouts and wanted to get it under control. I struggled with acne as a teenager myself but ever since I became an adult, my skin has been relatively normal. However, I still get an occasional flair up every now and then. I started using my daughters ProActiv cleaner a few months ago and it cleared up my skin within a few days. When I do get adult acne, it's usually around my forehead or chin. I haven't noticed any acne/blemishes since I started using her cleanser. I don't use it every day but I do use it on a weekly basis.
Username:
romanamb000
Location:
Yakima, WA
Age:
25
Proactiv Review
Review submitted: 2013-09-23
I am a 19 year-old female and have been using Proactiv for 6 months. The only problems I have with this product is that it is very drying, and if I try to use it on a daily basis like the product says, it burns and itches my skin. Besides that, it does keep my skin clear. I put the refining mask on at night and in the morning my blemishes have shrunk, and almost disappear. All in all I love Proactiv, but I just wish they had a version for people with sensitive skin. The scent is okay, but it's not something I would buy because of the smell. It does work very good though, at shrinking zits and preventing. I would just say that I do not use my products every morning and night because it hurts my skin to use it like that. More burning and stinging then what it's really worth.
Username:
sdsmiley
Location:
Indianapolis, IN
Age:
37
Proactiv Is the Only Thing That Works For Me
Review submitted: 2013-09-20
I use Proactiv on a daily basis to help with acne. It actually is the only product I can use that works. I've tried many others from organic treatments to knock off Proactiv treatments and always come back to Proactiv. I developed acne later in life, I didn't have much as a teen. I found Proactiv at the age of 20 and I've been on it since then. I'm now 32 years old. I've recommended the product to countless people over the past 10 years and everyone I know has had success with Proactiv. My favorite part of the treatment is the toner as it cools and hydrates my face daily. The lotion is also a good product.
Username:
valya21
Location:
Ferndale, WA
Age:
27
Proactiv Solution
Review submitted: 2013-09-12
I've used a lot of products over years to reduce and treat acne and about 8 months now I've been using proactive solution. Its a 3 step use. The first one is the face wash renewing cleanser, second is revitalize, third is the repair cream. The three product are an oil-free formula that's safe for your entire face. It leave a nice soft feeling after use and does great work with cleaning face. My friend was using it Proactiv for a year and recommend it to me. I've seen great results and believe in Proactiv and will use the product even when I'm clear from acne. The price of the product is great and both female and male can use this product. Proactiv has a lot more products if you start having dry skin they have moisturizers and make up if you want to cover up acne and not worry about it coming back due to having make up on. Proactiv make up is made with light materiel and you won't brake out in acne after using it. I recommend Proactiv to my friends and family.
Username:
flip1199
Location:
Rancho Cordova, CA
Age:
36
my adult acne dillema
Review submitted: 2013-09-02
I have been using proactive for the last month. Using the 3 step process I have seen an improvement on my acne flair ups. I am currently experiencing a break out and not sure why as I have been following the directions. Perhaps stress. I wash my face 1-2 times a day. My skin looks the best in the morning, but throughout the day gets extremely oily. I do not like that the step 3-repairing treatment- comes in a 3oz bottle and is a 90 day treatment. Step 1 and 2 bottles are 6oz. I would suggest that the manufacturer increase the size. Its my favorite part of the 3 steps. I dislike step 2 the most because that involves cotton balls. I like that step 1 has exfoliating elements in it. In addition to my face, I like to use it on my back, since I also have acne there.
Username:
jdoe9549
Location:
Miami, FL
Age:
23
Excellent Quality Product
Review submitted: 2013-08-31
Proactiv have shown much improvement with my acne it has reduced it by 100% and the price is not to expensive for any budget very recommended product that can be used by anyone any age. You must use it for 30 days for it to work effectively so use it daily and wash your face. Cream has a very great absorption of oil and cleans effectively plus it gives a very good moisture. I previously used proactive I guess about three years ago. I was in my early twenties and had always had a very clear complexion but at that point my skin became unbearably broken out. I decided to try proactive and I guess with my job I wasn't able to correctly use the product so it wasn't really helping. I knew it would have helped if I had used it as directed but I decided to stop using it, well I have dealt with my skin clearing up and breaking out for years now. Needless to say I was fed up, so I decided now to try proactive again, I have only been using it for about a month now and I have almost 100% improvement in my skin!!! I have seen an almost complete change in my overall complexion! I want to let anyone know of you are having problems with your skin proactive is the way to go!!!! I am Completely satisfied and would recommend this product to anyone!!!
Username:
kmk924
Location:
Horton, MI
Age:
32
best ever
Review submitted: 2013-08-22
This is the best acne face wash I have ever used!!! I love the way it makes my face feel so fresh and clean after every use, without drying my face out. It is the only thing that keeps my face clear of acne which no other has been able to do. It smells great and like I said makes your skin feel so soft and smooth and just fresh like you just had a facial. I will use this for the rest of my life as long as I need it and will continue to use their other products even when I don't need the acne treatment. I always purchase 2 months at a time to make sure I always have it.
Username:
ymathis
Location:
Atlanta, GA
Age:
54
Proactiv
Review submitted: 2013-08-15
Proactiv has truly come from a long ways, the reason I say that is because, in the past I used proactive and it left my face extremly dry and pealing. However, since then proactive has improved and I started back using it. My skincare routine is very quick and easy to apply. I like how quickly you can see a difference in your skin after a couple of days of using it. The least I do not like about Proactive is if you stop using the product the acne will appear as if you never used it..... The manufacturer need to come up with a cure for acne. This is my opinion.
Username:
themteethz
Location:
Glen Oaks, NY
Age:
24
Proactiv is ACTIVE!
Review submitted: 2013-08-11
I've been using Proactiv since I was about 16 and still in high school. It literally saved my life it seemed like. I didn't have bad acne but you know I'd have about 1 or 2 blemishes every week or so and I hated it. About 3 weeks after using Proactiv my skin had cleared up so well. You couldn't even tell that I had ever had a pimple on my face in my life, I have flawless skin as if I was just a baby. It brought back all my confidence I might have lost during my acne days and I owe all my thanks to Proactiv.
Username:
echcydgc
Location:
BROOKLYN, NY
Age:
40
ACNE TREATMENT
Review submitted: 2013-08-09
VERY GOOD PRICE, VERY GREAT RESULTS, MANY GOOD PROMOTIONS, FAST HOME DELIVERY, SHIPPING AND HANDLING ARE NOT EXPENSIVE, THE TV PRESENTATION IS REAL I BELIEVE THAT ARE NOT PAID ACTORS OR ACTRESS, I REALLY RECOMMEND TO MY FRIEND OR FAMILY MEMBERS TO BUY THIS GREAT PRODUCT, WORKS GREAT IF YOU HAVE OIL SKIN, NOW MY WIFE IS USING THIS PRODUCT TOO SHE IS HAPPY WITH THAT, IF SHE NOT USES HER FACE BECOME OILY AND APPEARS THE BLACK POINTS, I REALLY SUGGEST THE USE OF PROACTIVE ACNE TREATMENT TO EVERYBODY THAT HAS ANY TYPE OF ACNE.
Username:
Cartis
Location:
Waldorf, MD
Age:
30
No for sensitive skin
Review submitted: 2013-07-22
I have used Proactiv in the past, and sadly it's not a product to use if you have sensitive skin like myself. The percentage of benzoyl peroxide levels in the products added to high percentage that have burned my skin over a week. I ended up with red, dry spots over my face and neck. It was caused a itching and burning sensation on my face and neck that was uneasy to deal with throughout the week. I understand that benzoyl peroxide is an active ingredient in this product, but between the cleanser and repairing treatment, there is maybe a 3% of benzoyl peroxide (or more). This can be pretty harsh for those with sensitive skin, and to recover from horrible effects of it can take days.
Username:
landon042
Location:
brandon, MS
Age:
32
proactiv review
Review submitted: 2013-07-01
I have had Proactiv a while and it has been my number one choice for acne cleanser. Some days I get lazy and do not use it, but when i am consistent with it I do see a big difference, and I encourage everyone to be consistent to see the true results. I am very pleased with it, there have been no problems at all, it removes almost or all acne when you are consistent, and I have found it easiest when you take a shower so it can be applied and washed off easier and all around effects are better in the shower.
Username:
jarjarx145
Location:
Prattville, AL
Age:
22
Miracle In A Bottle!!
Review submitted: 2013-07-01
I currently use Proactiv 1-2-3 step, and all I can say is that the results are worth the price! In addition to these three bottles, you are also given other acne cleansers in the Proactiv line such as Advanced Blemish Treatment. What's more is that even if you have other skin conditions other than blemishes, they have creams and treatments for dark marks (dark spot corrector) baggy/tired looking eyes (Replenishing eye serum) and quick on-the-go wipes to erase the oils on your skin after a workout (Body pad) which come in handy for triathletes such as me! I recommend Proactiv to all who have skin conditions.
Username:
Chacha100
Location:
Okmulgee, OK
Age:
25
Proactiv
Review submitted: 2013-06-28
Proactiv is a good product for when you have bad acne. It will clear your problems up in about a month, but you will see changes in skin behavior in just about a week. The bad side is, that when you stop taking Proactiv, your skin will start to revert back to how I was because it depends mainly on that product and nothing else. So I say take Proactiv at your own risk. It gets the job done though.
Username:
PennyRenee
Location:
Morse, LA
Age:
24
Proactiv Changed My Life
Review submitted: 2013-06-28
It works wonders, I use it twice daily and after one week my skin felt brand new I've never seen my face so clear and beautiful, I have tried many acne products but Proactiv is the best I will never go to another product again, Proactiv is here to stay, Thank you Proactiv you have changed my life, I don't think I could go one more day without using this product, anyone who has acne this is the product for you, believe me it works. I have tried many products but always ended up with disappointment then I found out about Proactiv and at first I have doubt thinking it was going to be the same as every other product I've tried but it was not, it was a life savor, I will never have to worry about acne again I would marry Proactiv if I could because it has changed my life that much, no more make up, no more cover up, I can finally show off my natural beauty.
Username:
mira25
Location:
Pocatello, ID
Age:
31
Proactiv is the best acne treatment solution
Review submitted: 2013-06-26
One day four years ago I started realizing that acne was developing in my face. So I decided that this can't continue and immediately started looking for acne solutions that can help treat acne problems. While I was grocery shopping, I went by the the beauty and skincare section and found a lot of different brands. So I bought a few of the acne products and tried them for a while. Acne improvement results = Nothing, no changes I still had acne in my face. One weekend night, I was watching my favorite TV shows and saw a TV commercial ad about Proactiv with one of the celebrities that uses Proactiv and seeing the before and after results I grabbed the phone and immediately placed my first order. When I received the package it was exactly what I expected and had seen on TV. After a month that I used Proactiv I noticed a huge improvement in my face, Ya! The acne is vanishing and my face is looking more clean and also my face feels new and refreshed! If I had to choose Proactiv and a different acne solution, I would definitely choose Proactiv. Since then, I follow my everyday acne treatment routine. First, I start with washing my face with a soap free exfoliating cleanser once a day massaging gently for one minute and rinsing with warm water to remove excess oil, and dirt. I recommend to not over wash your face because it can produce more oil and dries out your skin. I apply the Revitalizing Toner with a cotton ball and also use this almost each night {five to six times a week} and allow it to dry. Then I use the Repairing Treatment to entire face or blemish areas twice a day. And finally I apply the Refining mask and rinse with warm water {two to three times a week} Also when I am outdoors, planting flowers in the garden or going out for a walk, I use SPF 15 sunscreen everyday to help protect my face from the sun. Exercising is very important and also choosing fresh foods and drinking more water. Proactiv is so great, that I have recommended to my friends, family, and colleagues. Thank you so much Proactiv, for making a high quality product and for caring for your customers.
Username:
RidenRiley
Location:
North Syracuse, NY
Age:
25
Acne Treatments
Review submitted: 2013-06-26
Being a college student I'm very familiar with acne problems. My main issue I have is blackheads that cover my nose. Then I get the occasional white heads. I use Proactiv's three steps to help keep my skin clear. Proactiv works well with whiteheads but does really nothing for all my blackheads. I continue to use the product because i can't seem to find a product that won't make my skin so dry. Since Proactiv has a three steps and uses a moisturizer it keeps my skin from becoming too dry.
Username:
sherryberry
Location:
mesa, AZ
Age:
26
Proactiv Solution
Review submitted: 2013-06-22
Proactiv acne treatment - is it truly the solution to acne problems? Well with my personal experience, I say heck yes. Also, many others would agree. Its' a great clinically proven product.
Username:
joody123
Location:
alexandria, VA
Age:
25
proactive
Review submitted: 2013-06-20
I have used these products before and the results were amazing! By week 2, my acne started to go away. I highly recommend this proactive products.

Write a Review

* indicates required field