Thursday, May 24, 2018

Lubriderm Daily Moisture Lotion for Normal Skin

Lubriderm Daily Moisture Lotion for Normal Skin Review

Body Lotion

Product Grade
Report Card Grade
0 Reviews
Best Feature:
Inexpensive moisturizer developed by dermatologists
Worst Feature:
Doesn't contain antioxidants or ingredients to repair skin
Best Uses:
Good basic body moisturizer for most skin types
Pricing:
$4.79 - $8.49
Manufacturer:

Where to Buy

Store Name
Price
$6.27
$6.99
$8.13

Overview

Lubriderm's Daily Moisture Lotion for Normal Skin provides long lasting hydration for the skin on your body using ingredients that already occur naturally in it. Developed by dermatologists, the moisturizer is infused with vitamin B5 and other essential nutrients to maintain smooth, soft skin all day long. In clinical tests, the formula was shown to lock in moisture for 24 hours after the initial application. The lotion is lightweight, non-greasy and super absorbent, so it feels great when you put it on, and it is also available with a light fragrance or in a fragrance-free version.

You can purchase Lubriderm Daily Moisture Lotion for Normal Skin at your local drugstore or on drugstore.com for $4.79 (6 fluid ounces) or $8.49 (16 fluid ounces).

Product Report Card Grade

We give Lubriderm’s Daily Moisture Lotion for Normal Skin a B because it is a good inexpensive moisturizer. We deducted points however because its formula is pretty dated and it won’t actually help to improve skin over time since it doesn’t contain any skin-repairing ingredients, antioxidants or sunscreen.


 
This Product
Overall Score
Our Awards
Date Reviewed
March 2012
March 2012
March 2012
Pros
inexpensive; non-greasy formula that absorbs quickly into your skin; fragrance-free version good for sensitive skin
inexpensive; fragrance-free and noncomedogenic; super absorbent and non greasy; controlled release keeps skin hydrated for longer
long lasting moisturizer, so you won't need to apply it every day; pleasant fragrance
Cons
formula hasn't been changed in years; doesn't contain antioxidants; tested on animals; doesn't include sunscreen if you are wearing it during the day
doesn't contain sunscreen; doesn't contain antioxidants
expensive and not necessarily better than drugstore brands; jar packaging exposes the lotion to the air which can cause ingredients (esp. antioxidants) to break down, so you are better off buying the tube; fragrance may irritate sensitive skin
Active Ingredients
Vitamin B5 and other essential moisturizers (ex. glycerin)
Ceramides, glycerin, cholesterol and hyaluronic acid
The Miracle Brothâ„¢ contains nutrient-rich algae (with hyaluronic acid) and antioxidant extracts.
Skin Type
Normal, Dry, Combination
Normal, Dry, Oily, Combination, Sensitive
Normal, Dry, Combination
Price
$4.79 - $8.49
$13
$150 - $220
Size
6 or 16 ounces
12 ounces
6.7-ounce tube or 10-ounce jar
Fragrance-Free
No, but there is a fragrance-free version available)
Yes
No

ProductReportCard Editors' In-Depth Review


Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Inexpensive
  • Non-greasy formula that absorbs quickly into your skin
  • Fragrance-free version good for sensitive skin

Cons

  • Formula hasn't been changed in years
  • Tested on animals
  • Doesn't include sunscreen if you are wearing it during the day

Key Features

Product Size
6 or 16 fluid ounces
Skin Type
Normal to slightly dry (sensitive skin will want to choose the fragrance-free version)
How it works
Lubriderm's website doesn't add any additional color on how the moisturizer works other than what is written in the overview.
Directions
Apply daily on hands and body. For best results, a body moisturizer should be used on lightly towel-dried skin after bathing to help seal in the surface moisture.
Ingredients
Water, Mineral Oil, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Stearic Acid, Cetyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Panthenol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Carbomer, Ceteareth-20, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Citrate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance, Citric Acid, Ethylparaben

Reputation

There aren't many online reviews from customers on Lubriderm's Daily Moisture Lotion. It does receive 82/100 (based on 24 reviews) on Viewpoints.com and 4.5/5 (based on 10 reviews) on Drugstore.com. Skin care expert Paula Begoun isn't a fan. She thinks it is a very basic moisturizer that doesn't include essential ingredients to help make skin look and act younger (ie. antioxidants, skin-repairing ingredients, and cell-communicating ingredients).

I personally use Lubriderm and love to apply it after my morning shower and before bed. I'm not surprised that Paula calls it outdated - my mom used to have it around the house when I was a kid, and it doesn't feel or smell like much has changed. For an inexpensive moisturizer, I think it provides adequate hydration for normal to slight dry skin. I would challenge the claim that it has been clinically shown to lock in moisture for 24 hours, but it definitely provides relief from dry skin at least half that time. I really like how absorbent it is, too, because there's nothing worse that having to wait to get dressed while your moisturizer soaks in. As my skin gets older, I'll probably try to switch to a lotion that helps slow the signs of aging, but, for now, I'll stick with Lubriderm and continue to supplement with an SPF during the day.


Reviews

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints

Username:
khpebo1910
Location:
Sacramento, CA
Age:
70
Lubriderm Daily Moisture Lotion
Review submitted: 2015-06-19
Has a long shelf life - does not get watery over time. Consistency is great, not runny, easy to apply. Fragrance free, does not conflict with other fragrance products used. Does not leave a residue on your hands that makes it difficult to handle items - and does not leave a residue on clothing or other items your skin touches. Long lasting, frequent reapplication not necessary. Have not been able to find a small size appropriate for travel. Friends frequently ask me to try this or that lotion and I have not found any of their recommended products that meets all of the points addressed above.
Username:
mlindsey
Location:
Bennettsville, SC
Age:
61
Restoring lost moisture
Review submitted: 2015-03-03
Due to normal wintertime dry heat and my prescription use of diuretic drugs my skin becomes unbearably dry. Lubriderm has proven to be very effective, non greasy and affordable. It relieves the cracked, itching skin that is a constant problem for me. It has a pleasant scent and a pleasant soothing quality when applied to cracked skin. I have ocasionaly had problems with the pop-up pump and have had to unscrew the top and dump out the product on a few occasions. This is not a major problem, but it would be nice to be able to rely on the pump.
Username:
mandiruth
Location:
Kimberly, ID
Age:
21
Lubriderm Lotion
Review submitted: 2013-12-19
I have been using Lubriderm for years. I have eczema on the back of my wrists, and it gets even worse in the wintertime. It can be hard to find lotion that's gentle enough for my cracked skin while still being effective. Lubriderm is one of the only lotions I've found that isn't painful at all and that keeps my skin moisturized for a long time! It's non-fragrance but still has that nice clean smell that you want to put on your body. Unlike some other products, the container is large enough that I don't have to repurchase it every two days. I'm glad that I found it; Lubriderm stands out!
Username:
dcstarlo
Location:
Charlotte, NC
Age:
66
Lubriderm Lotion
Review submitted: 2013-09-06
My lotion fits me quite well. I have sensitive skin and Lubriderm works very well. It was Doctor recommended. I have become used to this lotion and would be completely lost without it.It is the only lotion that has helped my skin problems. My life has become much easier without the constant skin discomfort. There is not much more I can add to this review. Other than the price is always fair and the Sunday paper normally has coupons for this product.
Username:
Faithslovee
Location:
Providence, RI
Age:
18
Lubriderm is my savor!!
Review submitted: 2013-08-15
I live in Rhode Island. During winter time, my facial skin has dried out and increased in lines on the face and bags under the eyes. The water is literally being sucked out of my body by the winter weather . Enter Lubriderm. Realizing I am in need of emergency help from this dry hell, I found it while grocery shopping. Not knowing what to use for this sudden drying out of the skin, I received a little sample moisturizers at a wedding. Lubriderm helped my skin to regain some of the moisture it had lost. After taking a bath, I rub in a layer of Lubriderm which lasts all day. This lotion is more like medicine for the skin. It also helps to soothe irritated skin or rashes.
Username:
txhuney84
Location:
San Antonio, TX
Age:
34
LUBRIDERM
Review submitted: 2013-08-07
I am a African American female and with always growing up having dry skin I decided to try Lubriderm to hydrate my skin. This was the best thing that ever happened to be no more dry patches of skin on my elbows or legs. I'm shiny baby trust me this works for my dark chocolate skin so I recommend it for you honey, but don't take my word the proof is in the pudding. You can get this lotion for a decent price at your local Walmart slap that on and you will see improvement with a week I promise you this honey child.
Username:
MsCEM
Location:
Las Vegas, NV
Age:
62
Moisturizing to combat desert dessification
Review submitted: 2013-07-27
I moved to Las Vegas (desert) 3 months ago. During that time, my facial skin has dried out and increased in lines on the face and bags under the eyes. The water is literally being sucked out of my body by the dry desert heat. Enter Lubriderm. Realizing I am in need of emergency help from this dessification, I found it while grocery shopping. Not knowing what to use for this sudden drying out of the skin, I bought several little sample moisturizers at the sample bin. Lubriderm helped my skin to regain some of the moisture it had lost. After taking a bath, I rub in a layer of Lubriderm which lasts all day. This lotion is more like medicine for the skin. It also helps to soothe irritated skin or rashes. I cannot suggest any improvements for this lotion except - does it come with 80+ SPF?

Write a Review

* indicates required field