Thursday, May 24, 2018

Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser for Normal to Oily Skin

Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser for Normal to Oily Skin Review

Facial Cleansers

Product Grade
Report Card Grade
0 Reviews
Best Feature:
Affordable, gentle soap-free cleanser
Worst Feature:
Contains fragrance and is tested on animals
Best Uses:
Good for cleaning normal, combination or oily skin
Pricing:
$8

Where to Buy

Store Name
Price
$12.99
$14.49

Overview

Cetaphil is the #1 dermatologist recommended brand of cleansers and moisturizers. Cetaphil's Daily Facial Cleanser is a non-irritating, non-comedogenic formula designed for normal, combination or oily skin. It is a clear gel foaming cleanser that purifies your skin of dirt, oils, and makeup without stripping your face of moisture. It is well known in the skincare industry for being a no-frills, affordable face wash.

You can purchase Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser at your local drugstore or online at places like Amazon.com or Drugstore.com for about $8 (8 fl oz).

Product Report Card Grade

We give Cetaphil's Daily Facial Cleanser a B+ because it is a good, basic cleanser that removes impurities without dehydrating skin or leaving residue behind. We had to deduct points because it contains fragrance that could irritate sensitive skin and because it is tested on animals.


 
This Product
Overall Score
Our Awards
Date Reviewed
February 2012
April 2013
February 2012
Pros
Affordable; gentle and effective cleanser; non-comedogenic
Excellent cleanser and exfoliator that improves skin's tone and texture; can adjust brush heads and speed based on skin type; device is waterproof, so you can use it in the shower or bath; can use brush heads on other areas of your body such as your back, neck and décolleté ("Body" brush head is basically just a larger version of the "Normal" brush head); comes with 1 oz. trial sizes of Refreshing Gel Cleanser, Gentle Hydro Cleanser and Nourishing Care Cleanser
Gentle and effective cleanser; does not contain sulfates, synthetic fragrances or dyes, phthalates, GMOs or triclosan; rosewater and cucumber extract give it a pleasant smell; gentle enough to be used on eyes; it is soap-free so it won't leave behind any film or residue
Cons
Tested on animals; contains fragrance, so not good for sensitive skin; you will still need to use makeup remover
$200 is very expensive for a tool to help wash your face; brush heads cost $20 - $25 each and should be replaced every 3 - 4 months; only receive a "Normal" or "Sensitive" brush head with purchase and have to purchase others brush head types separately
Expensive; you will still need to use makeup remover
Skin Type
Suitable for normal, oily and combination skin types
Suitable for all skin types (including sensitive)
Suitable for all skin types (including sensitive)
Skin Concern
Basic, affordable cleanser with no frills
Provides gentle cleansing and exfoliation to maintain healthy skin and/or alleviate skin concerns such as seborrhea dermatitis, rosacea and acne
Very gentle cleanser for soothing and softening skin that is easily irritated
Price
$6.80 - $12
$195 (2-year warranty and 90-day satisfaction guarantee)
$15 or $38
Size
8 or 16 fluid ounces
The device measures 7" x 2.8" (L x W) and weighs 2.2 pounds. The brush heads are about 2" in diameter.
1.7 or 5.1 fluid ounces
Technology or Active Ingredients
This cleanser has a very basic formula consisting of water, gentle detergents and glycerin, a humectant.
Hand-held device features a dual action brush head that oscillates at a sonic frequency of over 300 movements per second. It enhances the effectiveness of your cleanser by gently massaging your pores open to loosen dirt and oil and exfoliate away dead skin cells. It has rechargeable batteries that last for 30 minutes, and it comes with one of two replaceable brush head options - "Normal" or "Sensitive". There are four additional brush heads options sold separately including "Delicate", "Deep Pore", "Acne" and "Body".
The cleanser's active ingredient is soy protein, which provides amino acids that help maintain skin's moisture, elasticity and firmness. Additional important ingredients in the cleanser include borage seed oil for nourishment, as well as cucumber extract and rosewater. Cucumber extract is known for possessing powerful anti-inflammatory properties. It provides an immediate cooling effect and helps to calm skin. Rosewater is known for its calming, balancing and toning properties and helps to reduce redness in the skin.
Fragrance
Yes, it does contain fragrance, but a fragrance-free version of the cleanser is available.
N/A
No, it does not contain synthetic fragrances, but it is formulated with rosewater and cucumber extract, which give it a pleasant smell.
Ingredients
Water, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, acrylates/steareth-20 methacrylate copolymer, glycerin, PEG-200 hydrogenated glyceryl palmate, sodium laureth sulfate, butylene glycol, PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, phenoxyethanol, masking fragrance, panthenol, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, disodium EDTA, methylparaben.
N/A
Rosa Damascena Flower Water, Centaurea Cyanus (Cornflower) Flower Water, Coco Glucoside, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Peg-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Xanthan Gum, Peg-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Germ Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Rose Flower Oil, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Aloe Ferox Leaf Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Retinyl Palmitate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Citric Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Peg-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Peg-40 Sorbitan Peroleate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Methylparaben, Sodium Propylparaben, Polysorbate 20, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Peg-35 Castor Oil, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, BHA, BHT.
Product Design
It comes in an opaque pump bottle to limit exposure to light and air.
It comes in three colors - Graphite Gray ("Normal" brush head included), White ("Sensitive" brush head included) or Pink ("Sensitive" brush head included).
It comes in an opaque white tube to limit exposure to light and air.

ProductReportCard Editors' In-Depth Review


Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Gentle and effective cleanser
  • Affordable

Cons

  • Tested on animals
  • Contains fragrance so not good for sensitive skin
  • You will still need to use makeup remover

Key Features

Product Size
8, 16 or 20 fluid ounces
Skin Types
Normal, combination or oily skin
Skin Concern
Cleanser
How It Works
Cetaphil has a basic formula consisting of water, gentle detergents and the humectant, glycerin.
Directions
Wet skin with warm water and gentle massage over face. Rinse with warm water and pat dry with soft towel. You can use it twice a day (morning and night).
All Ingredients
Water, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, acrylates/steareth-20 methacrylate copolymer, glycerin, PEG-200 hydrogenated glyceryl palmate, sodium laureth sulfate, butylene glycol, PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, phenoxyethanol, masking fragrance, panthenol, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, disodium EDTA, methylparaben.

Reputation

Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser received good online feedback from customers at Makeupalley.com (3.5/5 out of 897 reviews), Totalbeauty.com (8.3/10 out of 570 reviews) and Drugstore.com (4/5 out of 359 reviews). In May 2011, the editors of InStyle Magazine named it the "Best Cleanser for Normal Skin". This is a very basic, affordable cleanser for people with normal to combination skin. It isn't hydrating enough for people with dry to very dry skin, and people with acne-prone skin should alternate with an acne-specific cleanser or it might make you breakout. It contains fragrance, so it may be irritating for people with sensitive skin. It is often confused with Cetaphil's Gentle Skin Cleanser, so you want to be sure you pick out the right one for your skin type.


Reviews

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints

Username:
Limaraca
Location:
Canyon Country, CA
Age:
40
Cetaphil Facial Cleanser
Review submitted: 2015-02-20
After trying different cleansers for my daughter and myself, Cetaphil has been the one that worked for both of us. It does not dry up your skin like other cleansers. You don't get that 'burn' feeling or the feeling that is hurting your skin. Once it is applied, washed and dried, your skin feels extremely soft and clean. This cleanser is amazing since it works for different skin types and it does not have side effects, well, at least for us it didn't and it worked for oily and combination skin. Love it!
Username:
agramza
Location:
Christiansburg, VA
Age:
32
Gentle and Light, Yet Unremarkable
Review submitted: 2014-02-10
I generally wash my face with Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser once a day at night before bed, followed by an oil-free facial moisturizer. I also use an oil-free facial moisturizer in the morning and exfoliate with an exfoliation mitt about every other day. I began using Cetaphil upon my dermatologist's recommendation after I broke out in hives while using my previous facial cleanser. Although Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser is extremely light and gentle, it doesn't moisturize as well as it advertises. In fact, sometimes my face still feels dry after using a moisturizer following Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. Additionally, Cetaphil has not improved my skin's complexion as I had hoped. I still have quite a few acne outbreaks each year as well as numerous blackheads and large pores. I really wish that Cetaphil would include exfoliating properties because adding on an exfoliating step to my routine in addition to using Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser and my facial moisturizer is quite a hassle. I also wish that this cleanser would moisturize better and reduce my acne outbreaks and blackheads.
Username:
shermcmillan
Location:
Portland, OR
Age:
36
Review of Cetaphil
Review submitted: 2014-02-10
I love using Cetaphil. My dermatologist recommended this product to me because she said that it was for sensitive skin. This product is affordable, cleans well, and is perfect for my sensitive skin. I commonly have reactions to products that I will have reactions to the first time I use it. I have NEVER had a reaction from this product. In addition, after I clean my face with Cetaphil, I use toner. With other facial cleansers, I usually have dirt left over after I clean, but not with Cetaphil. I feel as though it cleans very well. I am going to start to use the moisturizer soon. I absolutely love it.
Username:
Kelram3
Location:
Santa Fe Springs, CA
Age:
35
Cetaphil Facial cleanser
Review submitted: 2014-01-22
I am a thirty year old woman who in the past years has experienced adult acne and dry skin. With in those years I have tried multiple cleanser's to try and help this problem and nothing has helped. In the last two months I purchased Cetaphil Facial bar, Body cleanser and lotion. To my liking I have started to see a difference in my acne and dry skin. I will continue to use cetaphil and see how the results continue. I would love to do a focus group on this product to continue to give my opinion and hear the opinion of others.
Username:
GabrielleGalindo
Location:
Eugene, OR
Age:
28
Cetaphil Facial Cleanser for Normal to Oily Skin
Review submitted: 2014-01-20
I use this cleanser twice a day, when I wake up, and before bed. I wash my face and neck if I'm using the sink, or wash my face, neck, shoulders, and chest if I'm in the shower. I love this product because it leaves my face feeling squeaky clean and it has greatly improved minor break-outs. It is fragrance free and gentle, so it doesn't feel like I'm leaving chemicals on my face after I rinse. The only thing is a moisturizer is necessary as a follow-up because it does remove all facial oils, leaving skin dry and sometimes flaky. Perhaps some gentler in-between formula could be made that is as cleansing at the "normal to oily" cleanser, but with the gentle conditioning aspects of the "all skin types" cleanser Cetaphil also provides.
Username:
jenmoss81
Location:
Atlanta, GA
Age:
36
The absolute best facial cleanser
Review submitted: 2013-11-17
I could never live without Cetaphil. I've tried other brands, I've bought expensive department store cleansers. I've even tried that Clairsonic brush that manually exfoliates your face. No matter what, everything always brings me back to Cetaphil. I really love this cleanser because it is effective at getting my skin "clean" but it doesn't dry me out or make my skin tight, just a simple soothing cleanser Plus, one of the other benefits is that I can use it with or without water. My skin tone is even, hydrated, and I can even go without makeup when I use this consistently. It doesn't have a strong scent to it, and there is nothing in it that will cause my face to become irritated and break out. The only suggestion I could make would be to eliminate the pump part, and maybe have it where you could open the top and just pour it onto a microfiber cloth.
Username:
cohensh
Location:
Roslyn, NY
Age:
47
light and clean
Review submitted: 2013-11-10
I love the Cetaphil facial cleanser. It has a light and clean feeling that is refreshing in the morning, and calming in the evening. A small amount can be used each and every day to remove dirt and makeup. Its reasonably priced, and can be conveniently purchased at stores like CVS. I turned 43 this summer. People regularly tell me that I look younger. I have even had an individual say that he wanted to see my driver's license to prove my age. I credit this to regular skin care with quality products such as Cetaphil.
Username:
amyhanselmann
Location:
Denver, CO
Age:
31
Cetaphil Review
Review submitted: 2013-10-20
I use cetaphil because I like how soft my face feels after I use the cream cleanser. However, I have also used the gel, and I don't like it as much. The cream cleanser never makes my skin feel dry or tight, and if I don't rinse it off I still feel clean. The gel makes my face feel tight, and sometimes flaky. It is also terrible at taking off my make up. A lot of times, if I wear make up, even if it's just tinted moisturizer, I have to use a special exfoliating brush or a cleanser with exfoliating beads.
Username:
Methetree
Location:
Chandler, AZ
Age:
47
#1 Tool to Beat the
Review submitted: 2013-10-19
I moved to Arizona in November 2012. That first winter proved harsh and painful on my poor, dried out skin. The summer, while hot, isn't as dry, so I had a little time to find something that would help when the air dried out again. I tried several items but I have Rosacea and sensitive skin, so no perfumes, dyes or anything because they cause flare ups. This product actually doesn't cause my skin to flare up, keeps the moisture level in my skin higher and I use less lotion to maintain the moisture. The product doesn't leave any greasy feeling, it doesn't have an odor and everyone in my house can use it, even the 4 year old. I wish it came in a body wash. Those of us in very dry climates appreciate a soap free alternative that keeps the moisture in.... but not just for my face.
Username:
Anarten
Location:
Portland, OR
Age:
32
Cetaphil Facial Cleanser
Review submitted: 2013-10-07
I'm not someone that uses a lot of product on their face. I went through a long period of time where I didn't wash my face with anything and simply rinsed it with water only in the monrings. I have sensitive skin, and it seemed that everything i used worked okay for the first week, and then started caused dry skin or clogged pores. I like cetaphil because it is gentle enough for my skin, and I feel the difference in how smooth my skin is immediately after I use it. It has not clogged my pores. I'm not sure, but I think the ingredients are more natural than other cleansers. I don't like the price, a little high, but I appreciate the manufacturers coupons.
Username:
sanouvong100695
Location:
Sacramento, CA
Age:
22
Great cleanser, especially if you have mild acne!
Review submitted: 2013-09-26
Throughout high school, mostly my junior and senior year, I've suffered from horrible acne that would not dissapear! I've tried everything; from Neutrogena products to Clean and Clear, and nothing worked. My routine consisted of washing my face with a cleanser every two days yet I saw no improvement. Then my aunt had recently suggest that I use Cetaphil, and i was amazed. After the first use, my face was glowing. It made my face much softer and didn't dry out after continuous uses! I must advise everyone, don't expect it to treat acne, but while using this cleanser, do use a topical on the spot cream for acne treatment after your facial routine. Within a week, I noticed my face getting better, and blemishes vanishing. I like everything about this product and there isn't anything that I dislike.
Username:
Martika93
Location:
Castro Valley, CA
Age:
25
Miracle pump
Review submitted: 2013-09-17
My skin changes on a regular bases and can change dramatically depending on the season. It could be oily, dry, or normal all at the same time. It's so hard to find one cleanser that is at a reasonable price and that works! So it's definitely a breath of fresh air. I like how it's compatible with all different skin types and that it double as a cream makeup remover. However I didn't like that consistency of the cleanser, it felt very odd. Also I wished it had an exfoliant for black pores. What could improve is the package, they should make it a little more approachable to the consumer because you need to catch there attention.
Username:
spate217
Location:
Chicago, IL
Age:
26
Clean skin No harm
Review submitted: 2013-09-14
The cetaphil skin cleanser works wonders. I used it once and I could see dirt building up with the cleanser, truly amazing. It is also made for skin in that it does not harm it whatsoever. Using top quality ingredients cetaphil cleans your skin while keeping all the good stuff. The skin cleanser is also cheap to regular priced. It can be used multiple times a day without worrying about drying out your skin. I use it every morning, after I work out, and before I go to sleep and my skin is still soft and of course clean.
Username:
nayb
Location:
Mount Laurel, NJ
Age:
65
Leaves Skin Soft and Clean
Review submitted: 2013-08-30
I have been using Cetaphil Facial Cleanser twice a day every day for over 10 years. My skin always feels clean and soft without any greasy feeling. I use nothing else on my face (except sunscreen on bright days and my liquid foundation makeup). My dermatologist recommended Cetaphil years ago, when I was seeing some dry patches of skin around my eyes (those patches are long gone and have never returned). I regularly get compliments on my complexion (at age 60, these compliments are most welcome). Maybe it's genetics, but I really believe that Cetaphil has made a difference.
Username:
NadineOtt
Location:
San Francisco, CA
Age:
28
LOVE
Review submitted: 2013-08-29
I was a Clean and Clear girl before, but it never completely cleared my skin and I always found myself feeling a bit oily. I tried Neutrogena but that dried my skin out too much. Cetaphil is the perfect balance and I'm quite happy with how my skin is since I started using it (a few months ago). I wash my face with it morning and evening (and obviously a third time if I workout in between) and rarely have breakouts anymore. It doesn’t appear to have artificial colors or scents which is great, because we all know everything else does and that’s probably the last thing we want on our faces anyways.
Username:
micheledawn1975
Location:
Moundsville, WV
Age:
42
Cetaphil face cleanser
Review submitted: 2013-08-25
I went through a lot of face cleansers before I started using this one. I have a very oily complexion and this really helps. It used to be available by prescription only but it is now available to buy at any store. It is reasonably priced and safe to use everyday. I use it twice a day. It doesn't have any harsh ingredients and would be good for someone to use who has sensitive skin. It is dye free and fragrance free. The one thing I would change is that it doesn't make very many suds. It doesn't lather up very much. Other that that, I have no complaints about this facial wash. I have been using it for a long time and will continue to do so.
Username:
shahead
Location:
Wayland, MA
Age:
62
Facial Cleanser
Review submitted: 2013-07-28
I have used Cetaphil cleanser for at least 10 years. My dermatologist recommended it for my combination skin. I had tried other more expensive products and was not particularly satisfied with them and was therefore open to change. In addition, it is very important for me that the product is unscented as I am highly sensitive to smells and subject to headaches. Cetaphil is highly effective, a nice weight, unscented and unoffensive smell, and is very reasonably priced. Moreover, I can get it in any drugstore and do not have to go to a specialty store to buy it.
Username:
iloveblingkitty
Location:
Midlothian, VA
Age:
24
Cetaphil Facial Cleanser Review
Review submitted: 2013-06-23
I am overall satisfied with your product. In my skincare routine, I wash my face 2 times a day with your product. Your cleanser is great because I leaves my skin soft and clean, and takes off my makeup without any hassle. I don't have many complaints about it. The one thing I don't like is it sometimes is hard to wash off. Thank you I love your product!

Write a Review

* indicates required field